Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
For immediate release 
October 5, 2011
For information, contact:
Jennifer McLennan
(202) 296-2296 ext 121
jennifer [at] arl [dot] org

Program planning underway for expanded format meeting

Washington, DC – Librarians, publishers, analysts, scholars, and technologists from five countries will help shape the anticipated upcoming SPARC meeting on Open Access (OA) to scholarship. The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) today announces members of the Program Committee and invites participants to register for the spring 2012 event.
Set to take place at the Intercontinental Hotel in Kansas City on March 11, 12, and 13, the SPARC Open Access Meeting will provide a forum for a full discussion on the many threads of the global OA movement, with an emphasis on how communities can continue to effectively collaborate and take action to make Open Access the norm for the communication of scholarship and research. The meeting expands on the popular biennial SPARC Digital Repositories meetings, and will provide a North American-based complement to the popular “Innovations in Scholarly Communication (OAI),” workshop held in Geneva every second year. 
The SPARC 2012 Open Access Program Committee includes:  Paul Ayris (LIBER), Marilyn Billings (University of Massachusetts—Amherst), Raym Crow (SPARC), Deborah Dancik (Willamette University), Ellen Finnie Duranceau (MIT), Ada Emmett (University of Kansas), Kathleen Fitzpatrick (Modern Language Association), Martin Halbert (University of North Texas), JQ Johnson (University of Oregon), Heather Joseph (SPARC), Inba Kehoe (University of Victoria), Thomas Krichel (Open Library Society), Sue Kunda (Oregon State University), Alicia Lopez Medina (Coalition of Open-access Repositories), Clifford Lynch (Coalition for Networked Information), Donna Okubo (Public Library of Science), David Prosser (RLUK), Peter Suber (SPARC, Harvard Berkman Center), Caroline Sutton (Open-access Scholarly Publisher's Association), Alma Swan (Key Perspectives, Ltd.), Charles Watkinson (Purdue University Press), Andrew Waller (University of Calgary), and Alex Wade (Microsoft).
Registration for the SPARC Open Access Meeting is now open. Early bird rates start at $265 for SPARC members. Hotel reservations are also available for the conference rate of $139 per night. 
For more information, visit the meeting Web site at
SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) is a library membership organization that promotes expanded sharing of scholarship. SPARC believes that faster and wider sharing of outputs of the research process increases the impact of research, fuels the advancement of knowledge, and increases the return on research investments. SPARC is supported by a membership of over 800 academic and research libraries worldwide. SPARC is on the Web at